Junior Grand Prix Wraps Up In Armenia

Embed from Getty Images

The ISU Junior Grand Prix came to Armenia for the first time in its history as skaters vied for the remaining spots in December’s Grand Prix Final in Vancouver, Canada. 

Skaters Fill Remaining Final Slots In Yerevan

Adam Siao Him Fa became the first male French skater to win a Junior Grand Prix title since Florent Amodio in 2008. His victory also qualified him to compete at the Junior Grand Prix Final. Yuma Kagiyama from Japan picked up the silver and Canada’s Iliya Kovler the bronze.

Alexandra Trusova from Russia obliterated her rivals to win her second Junior Grand Prix title of the season and secure a berth to the Final. She also became the first female skater to land a quadruple Lutz in competition. She will be joined in Vancouver by teammate Alena Kanysheva who finished second in Yerevan. Yuhana Yokoi from Japan moved up from sixth after the short programme to third overall.

Arina Ushakova and Maxim Nekrasov from Russia topped both the ice dance standings in Armenia this weekend and the list of qualifiers for the Junior Grand Prix Final. Maria Kazakova and Georgy Reviya from Georgia made history for their country by becoming the first ice dancers from their country to advance to the Final. They are also the first Georgian skaters to make the Final since Elene Gedevanishvili in 2005. Ellie Fisher and Simon-Pierre Malette-Paquette from Canada rounded out the podium.

You can find full detailed results from the ISU Junior Grand Prix of Figure Skating Armenian Cup 2018 here.

Junior Grand Prix Final Qualifiers Confirmed

Russia has once again swept up the lion’s share of qualifying spots for this season’s Junior Grand Prix with 14 of the 24 places available going to skaters from that country.

1. Petr Gummenik (RUS)
2. Camden Pulkinen (USA)
3. Adam Siao Him Fa (FRA)
4. Tomoki Hiwatashi (USA)
5. Andrew Torgashev (USA)
6. Koshiro Shimada (JPN)

1. Alexandra Trusova (RUS)
2. Alena Kostornaia (RUS)
3. Anna Shcherbakova (RUS)
4. Anastasia Tarakanova (RUS)
5. Yelim Kim (KOR)
6. Alena Kanysheva (RUS)

1. Anastasia Mishina/Aleksandr Galliamov (RUS)
2. Polina Kostiukovich/Dmitrii Ialin (RUS)
3. Kseniia Akhanteva/Valerii Kolesov (RUS)
4. Apollinariia Panfilova/Dmitry Rylov (RUS)
5. Anastasia Poluianova/Dmitry Sopot (RUS)
6. Sarah Feng/TJ Nyman (USA)

Ice Dance
1. Arina Ushakova/Maxim Nekrasov (RUS)
2. Elizaveta Khudaiberdieva/Nikita Nazarov (RUS)
3. Avonley Nguyen/Vadym Kolesnik (USA)
4. Sofia Shevchenko/Igor Eremenko (RUS)
5. Marjorie Lajoie/Zachary Lagha (CAN)
6. Maria Kazakova/Georgy Reviya (GEO)


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s